MONTGOMERY COUNTY LIBRARY BOARD

About the Library Board

The Montgomery County Library Board consists of <u>twelve members</u> appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by the County Council. The thirteenth member is an Ex-officio School Board Representative. A complete list of current Library Board members follows.

There are twenty-three subcommittees of the Library Board that are called Library Advisory Committees, one for each library branch plus one for each of these library service areas— the Montgomery County Correctional Center, the Disability Resource Center, the Children's Resource Collection.

Mission

The twelve-member LibraryAdvisory Board makes recommendations to the County Executive on matters affecting the public library systems, including the acquisition and location of new library facilities, the adequacy of book collections, services to outlying districts, and personnel needs of Montgomery County Public Libraries.

Board members are also liaisons to branch Library Advisory Committees (LAC), attending LAC meetings and reporting the concerns of the LACs to the Library Board.

From time to time Board members may meet with elected officials or other stakeholders in the library community to discuss library matters.

Terms

Library Board Members serve three-year terms without compensation.

Normally three Library Board members' terms end each spring. At that time the Public Information Office sends out news releases to County newspapers, libraries, and local organizations announcing that the County Executive is seeking applicants for Library Board vacancies. These notices may occasionally appear at other times during the year if a Board seat is vacated between terms.

Members of County Boards, Committees, and Commissions may not serve on more than one such group at a time nor may they serve on the same Board for more than two terms in a row.

Meetings

Library Board meetings are generally held on the second Wednesday of each month, from 7:00 pm to 9:00 pm. There is no Board meeting in July or August. Please consult the <u>calendar</u> for exact dates. The meetings take place in the Library Board Room, MCPL Administrative Offices, Suite 310, 21 Maryland Avenue, Rockville, Maryland 20850. For more information, please call 240-777-0016.

MONTGOMERY COUNTY LIBRARY BOARD MEMBERS March 2012

BOARD MEMBER	1st or 2nd Term and End Date	LIAISON / REGION
Dr. Syed Amir	1st, 2014	Gaithersburg / II Quince Orchard / II
Mr. Arthur Brodsky	2nd, 2012	Wheaton / II Twinbrook / II
Rev. Richard Bryant	1st, 2012	Aspen Hill / I White Oak / IV
Ms. Andrea Christman	N/A	MCPS Ex-Officio School Board Representative
Ms. Jeanette Cotter	Partial, 2013	Little Falls / III
Ms. Paulette Dickerson	2nd, 2014	Noyes / II Silver Spring / I Friends of the Library
Ms. Florence Jewell	1st, 2014	Damascus / IV
Ms. Gillian Lewis. Chair	2nd, 2012	Davis / I Disability Resource Center / I
Mr. Otto E. Lewis, Vice Chair	2nd, 2012	Bethesda / IV Chevy Chase / III
Dr. Lois H. Neuman	2nd, 2013	Germantown / II Poolesville / II Potomac / I
Dr. J. Sri Ram	Partial, 2013	Kensington Park / III
Ms. Robyn Watts	1st, 2013	Correctional Center / II Long Branch / IV Marilyn J. Praisner / III
Vacant		Children's Resource Collection / I Rockville Memorial / I

LIBRARY ADVISORY COMMITTEES

Mission

The mission of a Library Advisory Committee (LAC) is to advise the Montgomery County Library Board (MCLB) and the Library Manager on issues of local interest and concern for the benefit of the community and Montgomery County Public Libraries (MCPL). These issues may include, but are not limited to, policy matters, collections, services, and facilities. The LACs are the voice of the community operating on a grassroots level for each library branch or services section.

Membership

Library Advisory Committee (LAC) membership forms and applications for a given library can be obtained by asking at the information desk of that library. LAC members serve up to two, three-year terms, and membership must be approved by the Library Board.

LAC CHAIRS March 2012

Aspen Hill	Elliot Chabot
Bethesda	Vacant
Chevy Chase	Steve Schmal
Children's Resource Collection (CRC)	Jennifer Arnaiz; Aurora I. Sanchez
Correctional Facility	Vacant
Damascus	Pam Hosimer; Kathleen Wiacek
Davis	Linda Pottern; Scott Major Giese
Disability Resource Center (DRC)	Jeanie Dunnington
Gaithersburg	Christopher Dentel
Germantown	Vacant
Kensington Park	Ann Johnson
Little Falls	Sally Bosken
Long Branch	Sara Stone; Wanda Resto
Marilyn Praisner	Allan Mulligan
Noyes	Vacant
Olney	Vacant
Poolesville	Ralph Hitchens
Potomac	Vacant
Quince Orchard	Ed H. Hsu; Richard Etches
Rockville Memorial	Gayl Selkin-Gutman
Silver Spring	Kathlin Smith; Stephanie Subramanian
Twinbrook	Lee Lowery
Wheaton	Jill Brantley
White Oak	Frank Altrichter